Finding Articles - Business 5 & 56 - Human Relations and Human Resources Management

Your Librarian

Jenny Yap

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Berkeley City College Library
Office: Room 135

510-981-2828

Start Your Article Search

You can access the below databases from off-campus with a username (your last name) and password (student ID number). Your student ID number can be found underneath the barcode on your student ID. Do NOT use your Passport username and password. Only students registered for the current session will have access to the databases from off-campus.

Start your search by using keywords. Here are some examples:

Business ethics

Discrimination in employment

Employee rights

Human behavior

Human resources

Industrial sociology

Interpersonal communication

Occupational health

Organizational behavior

Organizational culture

Personnel management

Psychology, Industrial

Unions

SCHOLARLY SOURCES: Journals

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 460 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 660 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 350 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world’s largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 600 journals.
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Issues Sources: magazines, newspapers, journals, primary sources

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues. Articles are selected from domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals and government publications. For a quickstart guide to this database click here:

POPULAR AND SCHOLARLY SOURCES: Magazines, Newspapers, and Journals

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that contains newspapers, magazines, and scholarly sources. A good place to start looking for articles.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Covers current issues and events discussed from the viewpoints and perspectives of various ethnic groups and races from 1959 - present. Includes full text access to magazines, newspapers, and research journals not in other databases. You can also limit your search to specific ethnic groups.
LexisNexis
Provides access to more than 10,000 of the most credible business, legal, and news sources available in a single location.
Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

POPULAR SOURCES: Magazines and Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing more than 33 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others.

GENERAL SOURCES

CREDO Reference
Online access to encyclopedias across a variety of topics.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Provides access to the articles from the Encyclopedia Britannica plus thousands of additional articles. This is a good place to start when looking for definitions and general information on subjects.

Business 5 & 56 - Human Relations and Human Resources Management: Finding Articles