Theater : Articles

Title: "Oh My God, Audience Participation!": Some Twenty-First-Century Reflections

Author: Elizabeth Sakellaridou

Source: Comparative Drama Spring/Summer2014, Vol. 48 Issue 1/2, p13-38. 26p.

article link

Popular Sources

• written by journalists for a general audience
• language is easily understood by general reader
• articles are usually shorter
• articles give a broad overview or tell a personal story

Scholarly Sources

• written by scholars or experts in the field
• language is specific to the field or industry
• articles are usually longer
• articles cover a narrow topic and give in-depth analysis
• articles contain a bibliography or footnotes

Tips

• Use key words not whole phrases
  
  
• Search the library catalog for textbooks, books and Ebooks
  
  
• Search the databases for articles

• Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) :  Includes full text articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study
  
  
• Credo Reference : Online access to over 300 reference books
  
  
• LexisNexis  Provides access to more than 10,000 of the most credible business, legal, and news sources available in a single location.
  
  
• America: History and Life  (Ebsco): database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Here are some key words you could use to search the databases for articles, or to search the library catalog for books or Ebooks.

• Acting
• Costume design
• Theater or Theaters
• Theater--history and criticism
• Drama
• Dramatic criticism
• Drama--history and criticism
• Motion picture or Motions pictures
• Motion picture--acting
• Motion pictures--history and criticism
• Performance Art
• Stage

Tips

• Use key words not whole phrases
  
  
• Search the library catalog for textbooks, books and Ebooks
  
  
• Search the databases for articles