Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Berkeley City College Library Resources
This page is dedicated to resources offered by the Berkeley City College Library and is a place for students to find relevant information for their research and personal education. This is just a sample of the resources we have the offer.
Suggested Search Terms
- Black Lives Matter (Movement)
- civil rights
- criminal justice system
- Ferguson unrest *
- institutional racism
- police brutality
- police misconduct
- police shootings
- racial inequality
- racial profiling
- race relations
- racism and the united states
- social conditions
- urban development and white flight
- youth protest movements
- white privilege
* unfortunately the most commonly used search term in library databases is "Ferguson riots"
Find Related Articles
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that contains newspapers, magazines, and scholarly sources. A good place to start looking for articles.
Ethnic News Watch
Covers current issues and events discussed from the viewpoints and perspectives of various ethnic groups and races from 1959 - present. Includes full text access to magazines, newspapers, and research journals not in other databases. You can also limit your search to specific ethnic groups.
Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics.
Provides access to more than 10,000 of the most credible business, legal, and news sources available in a single location.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing more than 33 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others.
provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Find Related Books
EBook Academic Collection
Provides digital full-text access to over 118,000 multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
EBook Collection :
Provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers. These eBooks are digital versions of print books from a broad range of subject areas and topics.
Search for books at BCC
This is a link to the library catalog for the entire Peralta Community College District.
Readings on Police, Police Brutality, & the Justice System
The New Jim Crow by
Call Number: ENGL 085C
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
The New Jim Crow is a stunning account of the rebirth of a caste-like system in the United States, one that has resulted in millions of African Americans locked behind bars and then relegated to a permanent second-class status—denied the very rights supposedly won in the Civil Rights Movement.
Class Race Gender and Crime by
Call Number: HV9950 .B34 2015
Publication Date: 2014-07-24
Class, Race, Gender, and Crime is a popular, and provocative, introduction to crime and the criminal justice system through the lens of class, race, gender, and their intersections. Almost 15 years after its first publication, the book remains the only non-edited book to systematically explore how the main sites of power and privilege in the U.S. consciously or unconsciously shape our understanding of crime and justice in society today.
Race and Policing in America by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006-06-12
Race and Policing in America is about relations between police and citizens, with a focus on racial differences. It utilizes both the authors' own research and other studies to examine Americans' opinions, preferences, and personal experiences regarding the police.
The Rich Get Richer and the Poor Get Prison by
Call Number: HV9950 .R46 2007
Publication Date: 2006-07-13
Illustrates the issue of economic inequality within the American justice system. The best-selling text, The Rich Get Richer and the Poor Get Prison contends that the criminal justice system is biased against the poor from start to finish.
Readings on Race & Class in the United States
Racial Formation in the United States by
Call Number: E184.A1 O46 2015
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Omi and Winant provide an account of how concepts of race are created and transformed, how they become the focus of political conflict, and how they come to shape and permeate both identities and institutions.The steady journey of the U.S. toward a majority nonwhite population, the ongoing evisceration of the political legacy of the early post-World War II civil rights movement, the initiation of the ‘war on terror’ with its attendant Islamophobia, the rise of a mass immigrants rights movement, the formulation of race/class/gender ‘intersectionality’ theories, and the election and reelection of a black President of the United States are some of the many new racial conditions Racial Formation now covers.
Where We Stand by
Call Number: HN90.S6 H66 2000
Publication Date: 2000-10-26
Drawing on both her roots in Kentucky and her adventures with Manhattan Coop boards, Where We Stand is a successful black woman's reflection--personal, straight forward, and rigorously honest--on how our dilemmas of class and race are intertwined, and how we can find ways to think beyond them.
Who We Be by
Call Number: E184.A1 C4425 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-21
Race. A four-letter word. The greatest social divide in American life, a half-century ago and today.
During that time, the U.S. has seen the most dramatic demographic and cultural shifts in its history, what can be called the colorization of America. But the same nation that elected its first Black president on a wave of hope―another four-letter word―is still plunged into endless culture wars
Readings on Social Justice & Activism
Black Youth Rising by
Call Number: F869.O2 G455 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Black Youth Rising examines how toxic social conditions outside of schools, in neighborhoods, cities, and society have threatened black youth's capacity to dream, hope, organize, and act. In this break-through book, Shawn Ginwright presents an alternative framework for understanding today's black youth. Resulting from his work with young people in a community based organization in Oakland, California, Ginwright formulated a process called "radical healing." As a result of radical-healing practices, African American youth learned to connect their racial identity to broader social and political issues which ultimately contributed to academic achievement, innovative forms of civic engagement, and overall well being." "Combining a theoretically grounded framework with practical strategies, Black Youth Rising offers a new model for understanding what African American youth need in order to succeed in school and in life. This book is essential reading for educators, social workers, community organizers, after-school coordinators, and all who work with inner-city adolescents.
Girls, Feminism, and Grassroots Literacies by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This book explores the rise and fall of a grassroots, girl-centered organization, GirlZone, which sought to make social change on a local level. Whether skateboarding or designing Web pages, celebrating in weekend “GrrrlFests” or producing a biweekly RadioGirl program, participants in GirlZone came to understand themselves as competent actors in a variety of activities they had previously thought were closed off to them. Drawing on six years of fieldwork examining GirlZone from its inception until its demise, Mary P. Sheridan-Rabideau offers insights on the current state of and study of literacy in the extracurriculum. She addresses how girls have become cultural flashpoints reflecting societal—and particularly feminist—anxieties and hopes about the present and the future. Sheridan-Rabideau does more than chronicle the pressure girls face; she offers advice on how feminists, cultural critics, and activists can effect social change on local levels, even in today’s increasingly globalized contexts.
The Activist's Handbook by
Call Number: HN65 .S48 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
In this thoroughly revised and updated edition of The Activist's Handbook, Randy Shaw’s hard-hitting guide to winning social change, the author brings the strategic and tactical guidance of the prior edition into the age of Obama. Shaw details how activists can best use the Internet and social media, and analyzes the strategic strengths and weaknesses of rising 21st century movements for immigrant rights, marriage equality, and against climate change
Readings on White Privilege
Between Barack and a Hard Place by
Call Number: E184.A1 W57 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Race is, and always has been, an explosive issue in the United States. In this timely new book, Tim Wise explores how Barack Obama’s emergence as a political force is taking the race debate to new levels. According to Wise, for many white people, Obama’s rise signifies the end of racism as a pervasive social force; they point to Obama not only as a validation of the American ideology that anyone can make it if they work hard, but also as an example of how institutional barriers against people of color have all but vanished. But is this true? And does a reinforced white belief in color-blind meritocracy potentially make it harder to address ongoing institutional racism? After all, in housing, employment, the justice system, and education, the evidence is clear: white privilege and discrimination against people of color are still operative and actively thwarting opportunities, despite the success of individuals like Obama.
The Heart of Whiteness by
Call Number: E184.A1 J425 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
While some whites would like to think that we have reached “the end of racism” in the United States, and others would like to celebrate diversity but are oblivious to the political, economic, and social consequences of a nation—and their sense of self—founded on a system of white supremacy, Jensen proposes a different approach. He sets his sights not only on the racism that can’t be hidden, but also on the liberal platitudes that sometimes conceal the depths of that racism in “polite society.”
Waking up White, and Finding Myself in the Story of Race by
Call Number: E185.615 .I778 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
For twenty-five years, Debby Irving sensed inexplicable racial tensions in her personal and professional relationships. As a colleague and neighbor, she worried about offending people she dearly wanted to befriend. As an arts administrator, she didn't understand why her diversity efforts lacked traction. As a teacher, she found her best efforts to reach out to students and families of color left her wondering what she was missing. Then, in 2009, one "aha!" moment launched an adventure of discovery and insight that drastically shifted her worldview and upended her life plan.
Images and book descriptions are from Amazon.com