ART and ART HISTORY: Websites

Launched in May 2014, the Art Discovery Group Catalogue (ADGC) offers an art-focused research experience within the OCLC WorldCat environment.

The Art Historians' Guide to the Movies is a record of appearances of and references to famous works of art and architecture in the movies.

Resources compiled by Professor Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe at Sweet Briar College, Virginia

The Art Story website is modern art history education that is optimized for online learning. We clearly and graphically analyze modern art movements and artists

BCIN is the Web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property. It contains nearly 200 000 citations, including the first 34 volumes of the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA), published between 1955 and 1997.

A Biographical Dictionary of Historic Scholars, Museum Professionals and Academic Historians of Art.

Art related links compiled by the Metropolitan Museum of Art

The MET's YouTube channel

Sponsored by the School of Art and Design at the University of Michigan

A joint project of the USC Annenberg School for Communication and the National Arts Journalism Program.

NYARC is a collaboration of the research libraries of four leading art museums in New York City: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and The Museum of Modern Art.

Smarthistory.org is a free and open, not-for-profit, art history textbook.

An archive of over 2.5 million contemporary and historic images from the Smithsonian museums. This site offers the opportunity to research and purchase prints or digital files of these images.

Links to arts resources compiled by the University of California, Santa Barbara

Duke University's image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.

Online exhibitions and research center.

Provides access to over 33,000 works and basic information about works of art from the Institute's collection.

Atlas provides online access to 35,000 works of art exhibited in the Louvre, including the basic information displayed on labels accompanying works in the museum, and authoritative commentary and analysis by the curators.

Over one million digital images of objects in the collection of the British Museum.

The Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.

Digital images of books and manuscripts in the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries.

Images of the Getty Museum's collections

Browse for photographs of the art collection, installation views of exhibitions, images of architecture around the world, and original historic photographs of Frank Lloyd Wright and the construction of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum.

Smithsonian American Art Museum Photography Collection

Works by American artists from the French national collections, 1620-1940.

Provides access to approximately 1.2 million images of works in the collection of the Library of Congress.

American Memory provides open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas.

Offers images, curatorial writings, and reference material for works in art in the collection of LACMA.

The Collection Database is a searchable database of artworks and related materials from the permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

MoMA's online exhibitions and collections.

Explore the Musée d'Orsay collections by artist, year, theme, and style.

All major traditions of Western European painting are represented from the artists of late medieval and Renaissance Italy to the French Impressionists.

Search the collection using artist name, title key words, school, style, creation date, medium, subject, and provenance.

The Museum's diverse collections encompass film, photography, television, radio and the web.

NPG's collections of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, and photographs document the diversity of individuals who have made significant contributions to the history and culture of the United States.

Explore 120,000 portraits from the 16th Century to the present day.

Images of classical art and architecture provided by the Department of the Classics, Tufts University.

Online collections catalog of the Morgan Library. Includes images from Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.

Online collections from the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.

The Image Gallery includes over 210,500 electronic images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.

The collection features colonial portraits, nineteenth-century landscapes, American impressionism, twentieth-century realism and abstraction, New Deal projects, sculpture, photography, prints and drawings, contemporary crafts and decorative arts, African American art, Latino art, and folk art.

Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.

Images from the State Hermitage Museum in Russia.

Collections database for the branch of The Metropolitan Museum of Art devoted to the art and architecture of medieval Europe.

This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries, University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries. The collections emphasize rare and unique materials.

Classical art research center

International Council for curators of Dutch and Flemish Art

A comprehenseive catalog of ancient Greek and Roman vases

A Biographical Dictionary of Historic Scholars, Museum Professionals and Academic Historians of Art. Supported by Duke University.

The HOLLIS Catalogs of the Harvard University Libraries are databases containing records for more than 15 million books, journals, manuscripts, government documents, maps, microforms, music scores, sound recordings, visual materials, and data files. Two search interfaces are available, HOLLIS and HOLLIS Classic.

A comprehensive database for historical research not included in other bibliographies. Covers historical disciplines, such as Archaeology, Byzantine studies, German language and literature studies, History of art and music, Philosophy, Romance Studies, and Theology

Smithsonian Library's 'Digital Library' contains digital publications, collections and objects.