Skip to main content

Library Policies: Borrowing Privileges

Provides information regarding library mission and policies

BCC Library Hours

Spring 2018

Monday - Thursday: 8:30am - 8pm

Friday: 8:30am -4pm

Saturday: 10am - 4pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Have a Question?

Chat with a librarian by clicking the Ask Us box above.

E-Mail us at ask@berkeleycitycollege.libanswers.com

Use a form to submit your question to us by CLICKING HERE

For general questions call the Circulation & Textbooks Desk: 510-981-2824

For research questions call the Reference & Research Desk: 510-981-2821

BORROWING PRIVILEGES

General Information

Get Your Photo ID Card!
Berkeley City College enrolled students, faculty, and staff are eligible for a variety of services offered by the library. Your Peralta Photo ID serves as your Library card.  You can find information pertaining to the requirements for obtaining a Berkeley City College Photo Identification card by going to Room 151(hours vary) or asking at the Student Ambassador Desk.

Checking out Items

All borrowing takes place at the Circulation Desk.  All eligible borrowers must present a Peralta Photo ID card.

Loan Limits
A maximum of 5 items may be checked out at one time.  Only 1 reserve or media item may be checked out at a time.

Loan Periods
Each collection has its own rules and procedures which are needed to deal with the different problems of usage, availability and format.  Borrowers are responsible for returning materials on or before the due date.

Collection Type and Loan Period
General Collection items may be checked out for 2 weeks.
Reserve Collection items may be checked out for 2 hours or 1 day depending upon the item.
Media Collection items, including DVDs, calculators, and chromebooks may be checked out for 3 hours

Items in the following collections may only be used in the library:
Reference items
DVDs and VHS
Periodicals and Zines

Renewals
You can renew General Collection books in person  or via the phone, providing they are not overdue or that another person has not placed a hold on the item.    Checked out item(s) can be renewed twice. If an item is overdue, borrowing privileges at all Peralta libraries will be blocked until the item is returned and fines [if any] are paid.

If you borrow an item from the library and fail to return it on time, a block will be applied to your student record.  This block will remain until items are returned and all accrued fines are paid.  Because it is a district-wide block, you will not be allowed to borrow items from any of the Peralta libraries.  Be advised that a block on your records prohibits you from obtaining your transcripts, graduating, and re-registering for future Peralta courses.

Fines and Fees
Checkout dates on these materials start on the day the materials are checked out.

2-hour reserve books and 3-hour media items not returned by due time will accrue a $ 1.00 per hour fine.  Failure to return book on the same day before closing time will also result in a $10.00 penalty fee per day.

1-day reserve items not returned on time will accrue a $10.00 per day fee.

Lost or damaged items will incur a fine amounting the cost if the item plus a $25 processing fee.

Chat with us