Skip to Main Content

English Composition & Reading

2020 Update

POPULAR SOURCES: Magazines and Newspapers

Library databases can be accessed from on or off the BCC campus. If you are off campus you will be prompted to give your ID and password (ID is your name and password is your student ID number).

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that contains newspapers, magazines, and scholarly sources. A good place to start looking for articles.
Lexis Nexis
Newspaper and magazine articles across general interest and business-related subjects.
Google News
A broad collection of the most current news stories from across many major newspapers.

SCHOLARLY SOURCES: Journals

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that contains scholarly, as well as popular periodicals. A good place to start your search.
JSTOR
ONLY contains scholarly journals.

Academic and Popular Resources

Digital Scholarship in the Humanities

Newsweek International Cover

Ny Times Cover Sept 22, 2020

Political Science Quarterly

Time Magazine Cover John Lewis

Social Science Quarterly

Christian Science Monitor (Weekly)

Popular Vs. Scholarly Sources

Popular Sources

written by journalists for a general audience
language is easily understood by general reader
articles are usually shorter
articles give a broad overview or tell a personal story

Scholarly Sources

written by scholars or experts in the field
language is specific to the field or industry
articles are usually longer
articles cover a narrow topic and give in-depth analysis
articles contain a bibliography or footnotes

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2025 11:29 AM
URL: https://berkeleycitycollege.libguides.com/engl1a
Print Page