Finding Articles - History 7A - History of the United States to 1877

KEYWORDS

Start your search by using keywords. Keywords for history research may include events, people, eras, issues, or other aspects of your topic. Here are some examples:

Abolition Movements

Fort Sumter

Gold Rush

Quakers

Sojourner Truth

Combining Search Terms:

AND - narrows your search results by looking for two or more search terms at the same time. Results must include both terms.

OR - expands your search by giving results that include either term.

HISTORY SOURCES: Books, Journals, Magazines

Library databases can be accessed from on or off the BCC campus. If you are off campus you will be prompted to give your ID and password (ID is your name and password is your student ID number).

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers full text from more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than 61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Popular Vs. Scholarly Sources

Popular Sources

written by journalists for a general audience
language is easily understood by general reader
articles are usually shorter
articles give a broad overview or tell a personal story

Scholarly Sources

written by scholars or experts in the field
language is specific to the field or industry
articles are usually longer
articles cover a narrow topic and give in-depth analysis
articles contain a bibliography or footnotes

POPULAR AND SCHOLARLY SOURCES: Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources

REFERENCE SOURCES

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 300 reference books.
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues. Articles are selected from domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals and government publications. For a quickstart guide to this database click here: