LibGuides: History 7B: History of the United States Since 1865: Finding Articles

KEYWORDS

Start your search by using keywords. Keywords for history research may include events, people, eras, issues, or other aspects of your topic. Here are some examples:

Chinese Exclusion Act
World War 2
President FD Roosevelt
Civil Rights
History of Jazz
President Nixon and Watergate
The American Red Cross
History of Marketing and Propaganda
The Chicano Movement

Combining Search Terms

AND - narrows your search results by looking for two or more search terms at the same time. Results must include both terms.

OR - expands your search by giving results that include either term.

POPULAR AND SCHOLARLY SOURCES: Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Popular Resources

Scholarly (Academic) Resources

written by journalists for a general audience
language is easily understood by general public
articles are usually shorter
articles give a broad overview or tell a personal story

written by scholars or experts in the field
language is specific to the field or industry
articles are usually longer
articles cover a narrow topic and give in-depth analysis
articles contain a bibliography or footnotes

Academic Search Complete
Includes full text articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
JSTOR
a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing more than 33 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as New York Times (from January 1985 to present), Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

HISTORY SOURCES: Books, Journals, Magazines

Library databases can be accessed from on or off the BCC campus. If you are off campus you will be prompted to give your ID and password (ID is your name and password is your student ID number).

America: History and Life
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
E-Book Collection
Provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers. These eBooks are digital versions of print books from a broad range of subject areas and topics.
JSTOR
a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources

REFERENCE SOURCES

Research Cycle Stage 1 Explore Background

Why should I use Reference Sources?

Gives you a broad overview of a topic
Provides information from an 'authoritative' source
Use the references supplied to find MORE information
Learn the 'lingo' of a topic from an expert

Suggested Reference Databases

Credo Reference

This encyclopedic database provides you with many of the

core aspects of a given person, event, legislation etc. in

history. Suggested readings and other linked content is

listed in each entry for further understanding of an entry.

SIRS Researcher

A general reference database containing thousands of full-

text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic,

political, and global issues. Articles are selected from domestic and international

newspapers, magazines, journals and government publications.

History Reference Center

Offers full text from more than 2,400 reference books,

encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text

for more than 130 leading history periodicals, more than

61,100 historical documents, 66,000 biographies of

historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and

maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.