LibGuides: BCC Library Databases: Getting Started

Getting Started
- E-Books & Book Review Databases
- Database Usage Policy

BCC Library Hours

Fall 2024

August 19 - December 13

In-person and Online
Monday – Wednesday 8:30am – 7:00pm
Thursday 8:30am – 5:00pm
Friday 9:00am – 4:30pm

Online
Thursday 5pm – 7:00pm

Need Research Help?

Get in touch with a BCC librarian by e-mail

ask @berkeleycitycollege.libanswers.com

Chat with a Librarian using the green "Need Help?" tab on the right side of this page.

Getting Started With Library Databases @ BCC

If you know what subject your research topic falls under you can click on the "Databases by Subject" tab in the box below to find the right database. If you are not sure where to start, check out the following BCC Resources to help kick off your research:

CREDO REFERENCE for quick encyclopedic information.
POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE or SIRS RESEARCHER for pro and con topics.
ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE BCC's most comprehensive interdisciplinary database
KANOPY (Film) Streaming for access to films and documentaries. To access Kanopy you must create an account. Directions are found in the Off Campus Access box below.

The BCC Library is happy to now offer free subscription access to both the New York Times and the Chronicle of Higher Education. Please see below for further details to set up an account for off-campus access to these great resources.

NEW DATABASE AVAILABLE:

Digital Theatre+
Digital Theatre+ provides access to streaming video of plays and productions, theory and criticism, and resources for practice and practitioners. This resource includes a broad range of theatrical practices, with access to 400 classical and contemporary performances. Also includes essays, practical guides, documentaries and lectures, and access to practitioner resources, including interviews with cast and creatives.

Databases Available at BCC Library

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 300 reference books.
E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers. These eBooks are digital versions of print books from a broad range of subject areas and topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources
MAS Ultra – School Edition This link opens in a new window
This database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines, also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 341,655 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
NexisUni (previously LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides access to more than 10,000 of the most credible business, legal, and news sources available in a single location.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues. Articles are selected from domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals and government publications. For a quickstart guide to this database click here:

Off Campus Access

You can access all of the BCC Library databases freely from off-campus. All of our databases are accessible to currently enrolled active students and faculty and require you to "Authenticate" using your:

Username = Your Peralta Portal email address

Password = Same password used to log into Peralta Portal

If you are off-campus and having trouble connecting to our databases, please email BCC Librarian Joshua Boatright at jboatright@peralta.edu for log-in support.

A few of BCC's databases require setting up an account or logins before accessing their content from off-campus. Please follow the instructions listed below to ensure remote access, thank you.

KANOPY (Film) Streaming

You must first create an account in Kanopy, then link your account to the library or

libraries you are accessing the accounts from.

Go to http://berkeley.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://berkeleycitycollege.kanopy.com/
Log into your Peralta Portal account
If you already have a Kanopy account, click on "Log In". You should have access to Kanopy.
If you don't have an account, click on "Visit the Berkeley City College Collection" and create an account.
After creating your account, you’ll receive a verification email in your inbox.
Click on the link in the email to verify your email address.
Creating an account on KANOPY will allow you to save videos to your Watchlist to view later, create clips and playlists, and view through our mobile and TV apps.

New York Times

Go to www.NYTimes.com/Pass
Click on "Create Account" using your "@cc.peralta.edu" email address

(Faculty/Staff: please use your "@peralta.edu" email address)

Confirm your email address and you are set to use your subscription
If you do not receive your validation email within 20 minutes, please check your spam folder for it. Email edu@nytimes.com if you need additional help.